Weekly Update 5

Jade discovers the joys of HBO

I come to you after an exhausting day exploring Yellowstone (I’ll post about that later). I’m still recuperating from 9 miles of hiking, a mild sunburn, and too many bug bites. While I’m recovering, I can still talk to you about what I have read/watched/listened to this week.

HBO is my saving grace

Well I finally watched Game of Thrones! Wow, what a great start to the season. From the intense opening scene to the last lines uttered as a promise for the game to finally begin, I was enamored. I was so happy to have the show back that I didn’t care about Ed Sheeran’s random cameo. I don’t really understand all the people who were so upset to see him in Westeros. He’s probably one of the more high-profile musicians to make an appearance on the show, which was a bit jarring I’ll admit, but It’s not something to get up in arms about. Some other standout moments for me were when the writers threw in a jab at man buns and when Euron Greyjoy shaded Jaime Lannister hardcore. That was hilarious.

Another standout HBO show I started this week was Big Little Lies. Now that is a great show! I’m concerned at how much I relate to Madeline Mackenzie (Reese Witherspoon) considering I’m not a mom and I’m only 19. I love her pettiness and her fierce love for her family. She can be a bit overbearing sometimes, but she is still amazing. What I love about this show is that it portrays these women as multi-faceted and sympathetic, even though they can be real catty with each other. Definitely worth a watch!

Did she read?

No she didn’t. I don’t really have an excuse for why, but that’s the case. I will be starting a new book soon though, so I don’t need your judgement.

Songs of the Week

Tired of Love (acoustic) – The Dig

Breaking the Habit – Linkin Park (RIP Chester Bennington)

I hope you all have a lovely week! This time next week I will be turning 20 so I might not have a post on Sunday, but I’ll make sure to have one up on Monday.

 

Leave a Reply

