Weekly Update 3

Jade finally finished a book!

Things have been looking up this week! I went camping for the 4th of July and made some of the absolute best s’mores on the planet! Turns out my aunt’s husband is a regional administrator for the EPA so we had some really interesting talks about the current state of the government, but I won’t get into that because it would just become a rant and that’s not the format of this post. Anyways, I hope you all had an excellent week! Here’s what I read/watched/listened to:

GLOW

To be honest, I didn’t expect to watch this, but I saw a few clips and I was hooked. I’ve been following Alison Brie since her time on Community so I guess I would have watched it eventually. I’m glad I watched it right away! What an amazing show! I never thought I would be into wrestling, but I was all there for it. It’s funny and heartwarming and just downright entertaining. I love the 80s aesthetic and this was the pinnacle of everything amazing about the music and fashion (those bodysuits though) of the decade! I also really appreciated every single character and the close bond the women shared. My favourite character was Sheila. It’s so refreshing to see such a diverse cast of women develop close friendships with each other, especially one involving wrestling.There’s no real emphasis on romance, instead on the real relationships formed between all the characters. A real highlight for me was Bash’s friendship with Carmen. It was so incredibly sweet and heartwarming! I would highly recommend this show to anyone.

Spider-Man Homecoming

What a movie! After watching Tom Holland in Civil War, I just knew that this movie would be entertaining. He is such a great Peter Parker/Spider-Man! Also how nice it is not having to see uncle Ben  die for a third time. Origin stories get boring once you’ve seen them multiple times. Also thank god for no Green Goblin. He’s just annoying at this point. While the movie doesn’t pass the bechdel test (which I mean come on it’s 2017, women are real people who have friends and talk about important things that aren’t men) Zendaya had the most memorable scene-stealing role of the movie. Give her more lines guys! Anyways, it’s a highly entertaining superhero film that is also a good teen drama if I’ve ever seen one (I’ve seen plenty btw). It’s definitely worth a watch!

Our Dark Duet (finally)

I did it! I finished it! I came, I saw, I cried (a lot). V.E. Schwab has knack for giving me endings that I might not always want, but endings that I definitely need. I just wish she would write more stories about the rise, fall, and aftermath of Verity and the rest of the alternate United States she sets up in this duology. God do I love duologies. It almost feels weird stopping at two when most YA series can go on from trilogies to 12+ books (I’m looking at you House of Night series). It just becomes too much sometimes. Anyways, this series was very original and I’m sad to see it end. I’ve been thinking of starting Good Omens by Neil Gaiman now. I read the first few pages in the library and it’s already hilarious. We’ll see.

Songs of the Week

Trust – Half Moon Run

My Tears Are Becoming a Sea – M83

I Saw You Close Your Eyes – Local Natives

I’ll be posting my insights to S’mores soon so look for that! Have a great week!

Leave a Reply

